ReviewEssays.com - Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays
Search

Distance Education essays and research papers

Search

371 Distance Education Free Papers: 76 - 100

Go to Page
Last update: June 4, 2015
  • Educating the Global Citizen

    Educating the Global Citizen

    Educating the Global Citizen Quote: "Washing one's hands in conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral." Paulo Friere who was a Brazilian educator and a human right activist wrote this quote. He was born in 1922 and died in 1997. The quote means that that if you don't to anything to change the issue of the powerless then the powerful people are the ones that

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 361 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: November 29, 2010
  • Aristotle's Views on Education

    Aristotle's Views on Education

    Who am I? I am a mathematician so therefore my expertise is in algebra, calculus, geometry and trigonometry. I am not versed in economics, politics and astronomy therefore my opinions of these are foolish. And I quote now each man judges well the things he knows and of these he is a good judge. And so the man who has been educated in a subject is a good judge of that subject, and a man

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 538 Words / 3 Pages
    Submitted: November 29, 2010
  • Educational System

    Educational System

    "Educational System" High school is a place where you grow up physically and mentally. In high school you begin as freshmen and graduate as a senior. Throughout that span of life a lot happeneds, and you are constantly learning as you grow. But I know many high schools including mine are not perfect and have flaws in their educational system, that can be fixed in order to provide a better environment for learning. Learning

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,137 Words / 5 Pages
    Submitted: November 29, 2010
  • Public Education

    Public Education

    The topic that I am going to be talking about in this essay is a very big and controversial issue. That is rather it is a good idea or bad to charter our failing public school system. So far it seems the non-chartering path is in the lead, but charting school is catching up fast. In this essay I'm going to summarize one article title The New School, by Chester E. Finn Jr. that supports

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 991 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: December 1, 2010
  • Foundation of Education

    Foundation of Education

    Philosophy Of Education What is the goal or the purpose of education? What is education for? My definition of education would be to learn or to gain knowledge of something through the teaching of others or through ones self. One of the definitions from the Webster's dictionary states that education is the activities of educating or instructing or teaching, activities that impart knowledge or skill. Both definitions of education appeal me the most important two

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,716 Words / 7 Pages
    Submitted: December 1, 2010
  • Evaluate How Instructional Feedback from a Teacher of Physical Education Can Serve as a Source of Motivation, Reinforcement and Error Information for Pupils Within a Physical Education Lesson.

    Evaluate How Instructional Feedback from a Teacher of Physical Education Can Serve as a Source of Motivation, Reinforcement and Error Information for Pupils Within a Physical Education Lesson.

    Evaluate how instructional feedback from a teacher of Physical Education can serve as a source of motivation, reinforcement and error information for pupils within a physical education lesson. Learning is a procedure in which an individual increases their knowledge in a certain area. Whether behavioural or skill based, the action that an individual takes in a particular situation can be changed in a variety of ways. I am concentrating on the effect of feedback in

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 857 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: December 1, 2010
  • A Black Males Strengths & Weaknesses in Education

    A Black Males Strengths & Weaknesses in Education

    A Black Males Strengths & Weaknesses in Education Today's education is often viewed today as failing in its major goal of educating students, especially those students characterized as minorities, including African American, Hispanic, and Appalachian students (Quiroz, 1999). Among the minority groups mentioned, African American males are affected most adversely. Research has shown that when Black male students are compared to other students by gender and race they consistently rank lowest in academic achievement (Ogbu,

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 3,148 Words / 13 Pages
    Submitted: December 2, 2010
  • Education in Society

    Education in Society

    With so many problems surrounding public schooling, it is difficult to understand where public school is headed. In the article "Taking Sides," William J. Bennett and Forrest J. Troy tackle the problem from two opposing views. Both sides present a compelling case, while at the same time helping readers to understand the difficulty of creating a program that functions the fullest potential. The article examines one major topic; "Have Public Schools Failed Society?" I

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,080 Words / 9 Pages
    Submitted: December 2, 2010
  • Parents' Downfall Can Destroy Education

    Parents' Downfall Can Destroy Education

    Parents' Downfall Can Destroy Education Past studies have shown that every measure of a child's social behavior is improved if a child has two parents. Two-parent families usually provide the best financial and emotional support for children. Although many single parents work extremely hard to support their children, generally they cannot fulfill as much financial and emotional support as a two parent household may. As John Gatto says in his article, "Why Schools Don't Educate"

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 525 Words / 3 Pages
    Submitted: December 3, 2010
  • Affirmative Action in Higher Education

    Affirmative Action in Higher Education

    Affirmative Action in Higher Education In its tumultuous forty year history, affirmative action has been both praised and attacked as an answer to racial inequality. The policy was introduced by President Lyndon Johnson in 1965 as a method of redressing discrimination that persisted despite civil right efforts and constitutional guarantees. After the passage of Title VII, which prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex and national origin, President Johnson shaped affirmative

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,349 Words / 6 Pages
    Submitted: December 3, 2010
  • Horace Mann's Education

    Horace Mann's Education

    The public education in American still resembles that described by Horace Mann in the late 1830s. Horace Mann wished to establish a state board of education and adequate tax support for public schools. He discouraged corporal punishment, believed education was a means of creating law-abiding citizens, and believed it would open doors for lower class children to be more successful than their parents were. Horace Mann was a lawyer and member of the state legislature.

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 318 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: December 3, 2010
  • Alternative Education

    Alternative Education

    CHARTER SCHOOLS Charter School Since President Clinton signed into law, H. R. 2616, the "Charter School Expansion Act of 1998" charter schools have been providing an alternative for parents of public school students (Lin, Q., 2001, p.2). To date, charter schools enroll over 500,000 students (Fusarelli, 2002, p. 1). Charter schools have been favorable because it is believed that they can provide for a way to enhance student achievement by serving students who have been

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,062 Words / 5 Pages
    Submitted: December 3, 2010
  • Philosophy of Education

    Philosophy of Education

    First off let me state that a philosophy is not set, and philosophies change. They can change over time through trials or in an instant from one experience. And maybe I haven't thought this out enough or I am thinking to hard, but I don't have a philosophy of education yet. I do have ideas, I know how I want to teach and what kind of teacher I want to be, but since I have

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 752 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: December 3, 2010
  • Industry Analysis: On-Line Higher Education Industry

    Industry Analysis: On-Line Higher Education Industry

    Industry Analysis: On-Line Higher Education Industry Today's industries of Higher Education are witnessing a burgeoning interest in the use of the Internet. The rise of the Internet, by information technologies and business application, represents a large base of potential customers for e-commerce activities. Generally, it can be said that e-commerce is a highly significant way of conducting business. For that very reason, a widespread of universities and colleges actively exploit opportunities created by the growth

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,030 Words / 9 Pages
    Submitted: December 3, 2010
  • Educational Philosophy

    Educational Philosophy

    Philosophy 2 What is philosophy? According to the book, Foundations of Education, philosophies are fully developed bodies of thought each representing a generalized worldview (Ornstein & Levine, 2003). Many people have their own philosophies and worldviews so it is hard to say that everyone has the same educational philosophies. I never fully understood what a philosophy was or even acknowledged the fact that every teacher has a hidden philosophy behind their teaching strategies. My instructors

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,279 Words / 6 Pages
    Submitted: December 4, 2010
  • A Value of a College Education

    A Value of a College Education

    It cannot be emphasized enough to people that a college education is the only way of getinng a good paying job that will let one live comfortablely. A college education has become more important than a high school diploma within last ten years according to a recent study (Immerwahr & Foleno, 2000). In fact, at one time a high school diploma was a way to get a good job and reach a middle-class lifestyle and

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 341 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: December 4, 2010
  • W.E.B Dubois Thoughts on Education

    W.E.B Dubois Thoughts on Education

    W. E. B DuBois's thoughts on education The Souls of Black Folk, written by W.E.B DuBois is a collection of autobiographical and historical essays containing many themes. DuBois introduced the notion of "twoness", a divided awareness of one's identity. "One ever feels his two-ness - an American, a Negro; two souls, two thoughts, two unreconciled stirrings: two warring ideals in one dark body, whose dogged strength alone keep it from being torn asunder" (215).

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 769 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: December 4, 2010
  • Philosopy of Education According to ontologies

    Philosopy of Education According to ontologies

    Philosophies of Education according to Ontologies Ontological philosophy takes ontology to be a kind of explanation in which the causes are basic substances, and the effects are found in the world. Given the existence of certain kinds of basic substances and basic relationships, it explains the things found in the world by showing how their existence is constituted by such substances and relations among them. In dualism there are two kinds of things that are

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 266 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: December 6, 2010
  • College Education

    College Education

    College Education College education is a highly talked about subject among the presidents. For many years college education was not highly sought after or looked for, then when people who did go to college started getting better paying jobs than everyone else more and more people started to go to college. Since college is such a hot commodity these days the price of a college education is on a steady rise. Some experts have a

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,396 Words / 10 Pages
    Submitted: December 7, 2010
  • The Role of Education in the Republic

    The Role of Education in the Republic

    The Role of Education in the Republic Plato wrote the republic in the form of dialogues between Socrates and other citizens of ancient Athens. In this series of conversations Plato through Socrates describes his ideal state. The Republic is a place where philosophy rules and the pursuit of wisdom drives everyone. It is a place of class order, where each person performs the task in which he can do best. However, this state can not

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 789 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: December 7, 2010
  • Education Philosophy

    Education Philosophy

    My Philosophy of Education I believe that there wasn't any other profession to go into to combine my wanting to teach people the critical everyday things they need for everyday life and my love for children then becoming a teacher. Teaching will be more than a job to me, it will be my passion. Seeing the passion that teachers have for their job, even if they don't show it everyday, I know that it's there

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 875 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: December 7, 2010
  • Education

    Education

    Many people think that they are not college material when struggling the first couple of years. Not being able to set their goals and know what they want to be could be very frustrating for them. College helps you figure out who you really are and who you want to be. Not all college students will know exactly what they want to study after high school, not all college students will know during college. By

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 832 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: December 7, 2010
  • Special Education Teaching

    Special Education Teaching

    Special Education Teaching I want to become a Special Education Teacher. I think that this job will have come with so many joys. But at the same time be very difficult. Some of the challenges to becoming an special education teacher is dealing and helping the kids overcome what some would say easy every day challenges. They say it takes a special person to do this because it like to try your patients and your

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 219 Words / 1 Pages
    Submitted: December 8, 2010
  • Long Distance Relationships

    Long Distance Relationships

    Long Distance Relationships: Can They Work? Two clichйs: Absence makes the heart grow fonder and Out of sight, out of mind. Which one of these two conflicting views is closer to the reality? As it turns out, it does not really matter that much since long distance relationships (LDR) suffer from exactly the same strengths and weaknesses as proximal relationships. Whether two people are going to have fulfilling relationship does not only depend on their

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,326 Words / 10 Pages
    Submitted: December 9, 2010
  • General Education

    General Education

    With living costs as high as they are in this day and age, it is completely unreasonable to expect the average individual to squander already limited resources. Receiving a bachelor's degree today requires an assortment of classes that often are not directly related to one's career objectives. For some, they find this to be an enjoyable adventure, broadening their knowledge and learning about new aspects of life, but for others this is just burdensome. However

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,887 Words / 8 Pages
    Submitted: December 9, 2010

Go to Page