ReviewEssays.com - Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays
Search

Distance Education essays and research papers

Search

371 Distance Education Free Papers: 251 - 275

Go to Page
Last update: June 4, 2015
  • Education: Children with Learning Difficulties

    Education: Children with Learning Difficulties

    Overall Theme: Segregation, integration or inclusion? Considerations: - History of special needs in the UK - Conceptualisation of special needs - Definitions of integration - Definitions of inclusion - Definitions of segregation - Who should be taught what? Why? - Purposes of education - Personal EXP Within the United Kingdom over the past few decades, the matter of the way in which children with learning difficulties go about being educated has been a significant issue.

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 802 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: March 1, 2011
  • Education: Kepping Close to Home

    Education: Kepping Close to Home

    In the essay "Keeping Close to Home: Class and Education" by Bell Hooks, she argues against the statement that "assimilation is the way to gain acceptance... for those in power. Seeing from her college experiences and from other examples, one can argue that one can survive by staying true to one's cultural identity. My personal beliefs lead me to support Ms. Hooks in this argument that assimilation alone is the only way to survive.

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 784 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: March 1, 2011
  • The Debate Around Bilingual Education

    The Debate Around Bilingual Education

    The Debate around Bilingual Education Bilingual education refers to the programs designed to give support to non-English-speaking children and including various types of models such as transitional bilingual programs or developmental bilingual programs. These services were limited until 1970's. Now its advocates in U.S.A. argue for bilingual education as a civil right. Although it becomes increasingly popular and effective for most immigrant children, it continues to spark controversy between its opponents and its supporters. On

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,359 Words / 6 Pages
    Submitted: March 2, 2011
  • Environmental Conditions Effect Literacy in Education

    Environmental Conditions Effect Literacy in Education

    Education has proved to have a two-fold function to perform in the life of students and in society: the one is utility and the other is culture. Education must enable a student to become more efficient, to achieve with increasing ability the genuine goals of his or her life. Education must also train one for quick, firm and effective thinking. To think wisely and to think for one's self is very difficult. We are prone

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,599 Words / 7 Pages
    Submitted: March 4, 2011
  • Educating Rita Compare and Contrast

    Educating Rita Compare and Contrast

    "Educating Rita" is the semi-autobiography of playwright Willy Russell. The play was inspired by Russell's experiences at evening classes. Much of the comedy arises from Rita's fresh, unschooled reaction to the classics of English literature. But she is never patronized by the Russell, who recognizes from his own experience that education is a means of escape from one's own circumstances. "Educating Rita" takes the lives of two people on the opposite ends of the social

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,383 Words / 6 Pages
    Submitted: March 4, 2011
  • Art Education in Public Schools

    Art Education in Public Schools

    Art Education in Public Schools One morning, a fifth grader took in her hand a violin, and it changed her life forever. Her fingers grasped the bow, and drew it across the strings creating a beautiful sound. She developed the patience to learn to play and continued to play the violin for the rest of her life. The girl had found something, not only in the instrument, but in herself. Ever since that day, her

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,007 Words / 9 Pages
    Submitted: March 5, 2011
  • Philosophy of Education

    Philosophy of Education

    Philosophy of Education By Education is a life long process whereby we gain an understanding in all areas of our life and of our world. We are constantly confirming information that we already know and learning new information everyday to add to our pot of knowledge. In my opinion, the purpose of education is to facilitate learning, gain a greater understanding of everything we encounter in life, and broaden the mind. While learning formally or

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 534 Words / 3 Pages
    Submitted: March 6, 2011
  • Athens Vs. Sparta on Education

    Athens Vs. Sparta on Education

    The Athenians were better than the Spartans on so many different levels, education being one of them. The primary purpose if the Athenian education system was to produce thinkers, people who where well trained in art and science as well as military practices, people who were prepared for peace and war. On the other hand, Sparta educators were focused on one thing, creating soldiers, people who didn't think for themselves and did what they were

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 338 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: March 7, 2011
  • Higher Education Act

    Higher Education Act

    Higher Education Act The red and blue lights turn on followed by the siren. You pull over to the side of the road and nervously get your license and registration out. The officer comes to the car and tells you that it smells like marijuana. Then he says, "Who's got the dope?" He searches the car and finds a baggy with marijuana in it. You are being arrested for possession of marijuana. As a

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 808 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: March 8, 2011
  • Sex Education in American Society

    Sex Education in American Society

    Sex Education in American Society Any topic regarding sexuality in the United States is basically seen as taboo. It was very refreshing to see a different, honest perspective regarding sexual identity. When I think about Sweden, which is where this film was produced, I think of a place that is very educated and safe to live in. Sweden is actually known to be one of the most safest places to live on earth. This

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 448 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: March 10, 2011
  • Sexual Harassment, Does Education Help?

    Sexual Harassment, Does Education Help?

    Sexual Harassment, Does Education Help? I recently observed sexual harassment behavior at work. Here's what I did. In my ENG Research in Human Sexuality class at Glendale Community College, I set out to observe whether or not MY definitions of sexual harassment actually occurred in my workplace on a regular basis. I define female harassment the same for males: touching, verbal terms, sexual questions, and sexual flirting were my most obvious concerns. From January 20

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 3,710 Words / 15 Pages
    Submitted: March 10, 2011
  • The Value of a College Education

    The Value of a College Education

    The Value of a College Education The value of a college education should not be under estimated. Behind many of the doors that are closed to non-college graduates lie the opportunities that can mean the difference between wanting to hit the snooze on the alarm clock for the fifth time and wanting to get up out of bed and get to work. The pursuit of a college education will have many impacts on one's personal

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,861 Words / 8 Pages
    Submitted: March 13, 2011
  • Status of Education

    Status of Education

    The education system of today is being challenged more than ever before. Schools are trying to meet needs of a diverse student body that is the most culturally, linguistically and ethnically diverse group yet. The most important goal for our schools today is making sure everyone is achieving the best education they possibly can. Many factors can determine the likelihood of a successful education: learning styles, socio economic status and ethnic background are a few.

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 580 Words / 3 Pages
    Submitted: March 15, 2011
  • The State of Our Public Education System

    The State of Our Public Education System

    Who else could have written a country song about the Holocaust ("Ride 'Em Jewboy" about a human being kept in a cage as part of a circus ["Wild Man From Borneo"])? Outrageous and irreverent but nearly always thought-provoking, Kinky Friedman wrote and performed satirical country songs during the 1970s and has been hailed the Frank Zappa of country music. The son of a University of Texas professor who raised his children on the family ranch,

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 592 Words / 3 Pages
    Submitted: March 16, 2011
  • My Education Goal

    My Education Goal

    Learning is a continuous process in life since we are constantly influenced everything known and unknown around us. Whether one considers making learning a formal process by attending educational institutions and being recognized for their achievements or informally, by their own inclination to learn, is a focal decision one eventually has to make. Every person should take pride and add value in the knowledge and know- how that they possess. They have the capability of

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 536 Words / 3 Pages
    Submitted: March 17, 2011
  • Educational Leadership

    Educational Leadership

    Final Paper When reflecting on the things I have learned through these past eight weeks I am glad I had the opportunity to take this class. I think that the thing that has been of greatest benefit to me in this class was the self-assessment projects that we have done. I'll admit that as I was taking them I didn't think they would be very useful to me. However, as we went along as took

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 379 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: March 17, 2011
  • An Educator's Opinion

    An Educator's Opinion

    An Educator opinion Marliss Lam P.E.I # 1 Education 1100 Dr. Robb Frank, Instructor February 25, 2006 In the next few years, the effects and the consequences of the NCLB Act will start to take effect across our country. Whether we agree with the NCLB or not, it is here for now. As educators, we all need to become better informed about the act and the effect it could have on our careers and our

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 678 Words / 3 Pages
    Submitted: March 18, 2011
  • The Barbour Scholarships: Striving for Better Education, or Just a Tool for Assimilation?

    The Barbour Scholarships: Striving for Better Education, or Just a Tool for Assimilation?

    The Barbour Scholarships: Striving for Better Education, or Just a Tool for Assimilation? United States foreign policy has continually posed a controversial and changing issue. In the early twentieth century, Congress enacted multiple immigration regulation acts, including the Johnson Reed Act in 1924, which restricted immigration from China, Japan and India in response to American citizens' uncertainties and resentment towards minorities. As more minorities diversified the nation and began to prosper, white Americans feared the

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,999 Words / 12 Pages
    Submitted: March 20, 2011
  • Private Health Care and Private Education Is Unfair

    Private Health Care and Private Education Is Unfair

    Private education and private health care are the most unfair and degrading systems to modern day living. People who can receive this 'special treatment' seem to be comfortable in their finances. In this essay I will try and prove a point on why I think private systems are unfair. Take for instance, why should people with more money receive better health treatment or send their children to go through a better education? The answer to

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 486 Words / 2 Pages
    Submitted: March 20, 2011
  • The Hematological Cancer Research Investment and Education Act of 2001

    The Hematological Cancer Research Investment and Education Act of 2001

    Running Head: Hematological Cancer Research Act The Hematological Cancer Research Investment and Education Act of 2001 Joe Smith University of Houston-Clear Lake May 1, 2005 The Hematological Cancer Research Investment and Education Act of 2001 The startling reality remains that a great number of people are diagnosed and die of cancer each and every year. Since the beginning of the 1970's, billions of dollars have been funded researching cures and preventions for the numerous types

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,384 Words / 10 Pages
    Submitted: March 21, 2011
  • Special Education

    Special Education

    Special Education 2 Special Education plays an important role in American Education. It is a very common thing in this world to have some sort of disability whether it is mental or physical. Parents also rely on the schools to include their disabled child into a normal life, surrounded by those who will teach them. Being a special education teacher involves a lot of stress. The working level is different verses a regular student

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 904 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: March 22, 2011
  • Educational Journey of Women: Home and Abroad

    Educational Journey of Women: Home and Abroad

    TITLE: EDUCATIONAL JOURNEY OF WOMEN: HOME AND ABROAD INTRODUCTION Education is the emancipation of human soul, which transcends him from all the mortal shortcomings and uplifts him from other species. There are various philosophies regarding the aims, objectives and forms of education, but each of them recognizes its expanding nature. Education is a gift--one that each generation offers to its offspring. We see in the education of the young the only gift we have that

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 2,388 Words / 10 Pages
    Submitted: March 24, 2011
  • Self-Esteem and Education

    Self-Esteem and Education

    With the new millennium marching on and technology advances at "superhighway" speeds, why are inner city students underachieving academically at alarming rates? Are the old methods of teaching ineffective on new millennium students? Does the education system need to discover a "new and improved" teaching technique to help bring these students up to par? In his article, "I Can't Spell Cat, But My Self-Esteem is High", Patrick A. Hall emphatically rebukes the notion that

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 1,148 Words / 5 Pages
    Submitted: March 24, 2011
  • Democracy and Education

    Democracy and Education

    “Democracy and Education” The most interesting argument of Booker T. Washington’s speech, “Democracy and Education” is that instead of hating the white men, Washington not only forgives them, but sympathizes with them. In his speech, Washington says, “I thank God that I have grown to the point where I can sympathize with a white man as much as I can sympathize with a black man. I have grown to the point where I can sympathize

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 783 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: March 25, 2011
  • A Good Education Gone to Waste

    A Good Education Gone to Waste

    "His work seemed to him thin, commonplace, feeble. At times he felt his own weakness so fatally that he could not go on; when he had nothing to say, he could not say it, and he found that he had very little to say at best" (Adams 39). Having been born into the upper class, Henry Adams graduated from high school and then for him, "the next regular step was Harvard" (Adams 32). Through

    Rating:
    Essay Length: 835 Words / 4 Pages
    Submitted: March 25, 2011

Go to Page