ReviewEssays.com - Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays
Search

Staffing Plan Paper

Essay by review  •  April 28, 2011  •  Research Paper  •  814 Words (4 Pages)  •  2,275 Views

Essay Preview: Staffing Plan Paper

Report this essay
Page 1 of 4

Staffing Plan Paper

My boss, K. H, stated, "People are your most important asset is wrong. People are not your most important asset: the right people are." (personal communication, May 26, 2007). I agree on that statement he made. Additionally, he informed me that hiring employees for this business may sound like a simple process, but the hiring process can easily become complex and confusing. After understanding the recruitment process taught by G. H. (personal communication, May 22, 2007) at UP college, I can develop a successful staffing plan for my organization, XXX Corporation. I will determine how many people I need to hire and in what functional areas and develop strategies to recruit the appropriate applicants.

To recruit qualified candidates, I have to identify what positions are needed and the number of openings for each position. I would ask myself what are the necessary positions I need to have a successful tax season. I see 12 traditional positions I need to get started. These positions are:

1. General Manager

2. Office Manager

3. Tax Preparer

4. Tax Preparer Assistant

5. Receptionist

6. Bookkeeper

7. Technical Support Specialist

8. Tax School Instructor

9. Marketing Coordinator

10. Processing Clerk

11. Customer Care Center Manager.

12. Customer Care Specialist.

After establishing my primary positions, then I would focus on workers. XXX classified workers in three categories: (a) employees, (b) temporary workers, and (c) independent contractors. I would keep the same categories for my staff plans. I would make sure I write a detail distinctions on each category. Once I determined my needs, I would create detail descriptions for each position. This would define the role of the position and reflects the work an employee is expected to perform. The job descriptions would also help determine pay levels, as well as the education, experience, and skills that a qualified candidate needs. The key areas I would consider are: (a) what duties, tasks and responsibilities are involved in the job, (b) what requirements and qualifications are required to succeed on the job, and (c) what competencies are required to complete the tasks. Once the job descriptions are created, I would verify and make sure it include job title, job overview, major responsibilities, and qualifications. It is essential for me to become familiar with the federal, state, and local laws related to employment. Agencies, such as Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and Department of Labor (DOL) provided information regarding these laws. One of the laws are Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (2006). Under its title, it is unlawful to discriminate against a job applicant based on his or her race, color, national origin, gender or religion. The law covers private employers that have 15 or more employees. Another law is the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1983. Administered by the DOL, FLSA provides guidelines on employment status, child labor, minimum wages, overtime pay, and record-keeping requirements (DOL, 2007). Employment laws and regulations are complex and sometimes difficult to understand. Even the military laws

...

...

Download as:   txt (5.2 Kb)   pdf (81.1 Kb)   docx (10.9 Kb)  
Continue for 3 more pages »
Only available on ReviewEssays.com
Citation Generator

(2011, 04). Staffing Plan Paper. ReviewEssays.com. Retrieved 04, 2011, from https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Staffing-Plan-Paper/52221.html

"Staffing Plan Paper" ReviewEssays.com. 04 2011. 2011. 04 2011 <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Staffing-Plan-Paper/52221.html>.

"Staffing Plan Paper." ReviewEssays.com. ReviewEssays.com, 04 2011. Web. 04 2011. <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Staffing-Plan-Paper/52221.html>.

"Staffing Plan Paper." ReviewEssays.com. 04, 2011. Accessed 04, 2011. https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Staffing-Plan-Paper/52221.html.