ReviewEssays.com - Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays
Search

Research Essay on George Bush

Essay by   •  July 1, 2011  •  Essay  •  2,051 Words (9 Pages)  •  1,877 Views

Essay Preview: Research Essay on George Bush

Report this essay
Page 1 of 9

Kevin Sandstrom

12/11/07

ES2B Schaffer

Research Essay Final Draft

January 20th 2001. George W. Bush is sworn into the presidential office and our nation is sworn into a state of crisis and debt. Bush is a menace. He has thrown us headfirst into a war for another country when we have our own countries wars to worry about. Hurricane Katrina victims are still homeless and suffering. Our jails abuse prisoners. People who are just thought to be terrorists are thrown into detainment camps. NSA has monitored people’s phones for information. Is this what America, the land of the free and the home of the brave, has come to? Is this what people in this country want?! What you need to want is change. You need to kill the venomous snake that is George bush poisoning the world!

In the year 2000 George Walker Bush beat Al Gore for the presidential election and became our 43rd president. Bush took office in January of 2001. On ther morning of September 11th, 2001, nineteen terrorists affiliated with al-Qaeda hijacked four commercial passenger jet airliners.The hijackers intentionally crashed two of the airliners (American Airlines Flight 11 and United Airlines Flight 175) into the World Trade Center in New York City, one plane into each tower (1 WTC and 2 WTC), resulting in the collapse of both buildings soon afterward and extensive damage to nearby buildings. In addition to the 19 hijackers, 2,974 people died as an immediate result of the attacks, mostly civilians. Shortly after September 11, 2001, President Bush addressed a joint session of Congress and announced the new War on Terrorism. On March 19, 2003, U.S. troops invaded Iraq. U.S. troops promptly began searching for the key members of Saddam Hussein's government. These individuals were identified by a variety of means, most famously through sets of most-wanted Iraqi playing cards.On 22 July 2003 during a raid by the U.S. 101st Airborne Division and men from Task Force 20, Saddam Hussein's sons Uday and Qusay, and one of his grandsons were killed.Saddam Hussein was captured on December 13, 2003 by the U.S. Army's 4th Infantry Division and members of Task Force 121 during Operation Red Dawn.

Soon after the September 11, 2001 attacks U.S. President George W. Bush issued an executive order that authorized the National Security Agency (NSA) to conductsurveillance of certain telephone calls without obtaining a warrant from the FISC as stipulated by FISA. The complete details of executive order are not known, but according to statements by the administration, the authorization covers telephone calls originating overseas from or to a person suspected of having links to terrorist organizations such as al-Qaeda or its affiliates even when the other party to the call is within the US.

The United States presidential election of 2004 was held on Election Day, Tuesday, November 2, 2004. Republican candidate George Walker Bush, the President of the United States, defeated Democratic candidate John Kerry, and took a 2nd term of office. One of the worst natural disasters in U.S. history, Hurricane Katrina, struck early in Bush’s second term. Katrina formed in late August during the 2005 Atlantic hurricane season and devastated much of the north-central Gulf Coast of the United States, particularly New Orleans. Due to mounting criticism as the disaster in New Orleans intensified, Bush claimed full responsibility for the failures on the part of the federal government in its response to the hurricane. In the 2004 elections, 95вЂ"98% of the Republican electorate approved of him. This support waned, however, due mostly to Republicans' growing frustration with Bush on the issues of spending and illegal immigration. Some Republican leaders began criticizing Bush on his policies in Iraq, Iran and the Palestinian Territories. Bush's approval rating has been below the 50 percent mark in AP-Ipsos polling since December 2004. Polls conducted in 2006 showed an average of 37% approval ratings for Bush; the lowest for any second term president in this point of term since Harry Truman in March 1951, when his approval rating was 28 percent, which contributed to what Bush called the "thumping" of the GOP in the 2006 mid-term elections. In the average of major polls Bush's approval rating was, as of September 25, 33.8%.In a Newsweek poll of June 21, 2007, Bush received an approval rate of 26%, the lowest point of his presidency, and the second lowest of any president in the last thirty five years, second only to Richard Nixon's record low of 23%, seven months before he resigned from office. 18 out of 21 countries surveyed around the world were fount to hold an unfavorable opinion of Bush.(wikipedia.org/Gerorge_W._Bush)

Many events, both terrible and marvelous, have occurred in the presidency of George Bush, but none highlight his career more than the Iraq War. The Iraq War, also known as the second gulf war, is an ongoing conflict between the United States and Iraq. The Iraq war was started in March of 2003 when the President of The United States of America, Geroge W. Bush, launched an invasion of Iraq to find and get rid of weapons of mass destruciton that Iraq was building. After 4 years, 8 months, and 300 days, the war is still waging on. Our troops are still being killed. Our country is slipping further and further into debt, and yet ther is no PEACE! This war is going on for a reason unknown to everyone but Bush. We captured Sadam, we elected new officials for Iraq, we have tried to rebuild their country, and yet they still kill us. They still bomb our vehicles. Out troops aren’t able to go to bed at night without thinking that their next breath could be their last.

Bush gained much support in the beginning of the war when we went into afganistan and toppled the Taliban government. But Bush chose partisianship over leadership. No other pesident faced with a monumental failed to help wage a truly national struggle. Bush has planted the seeds for the crisis to come by diverting the struggle against Al Qaeda toward an all out effort to topple their pre-existing target, Saddam Hussein. In a deliberate political decision, the administrtion stampeded the Congress and a traumatized citizenry into the Iraq invasion on the basis of what has now been demonstrated to be tendentious and perhaps fabricated evidence of an imminent Iraqi threat to American security, one that the White House suggested involved nuclear weapons (Rolling Stone mag., issue 999, May 4th 2006, p.35). We haven’t found nuclear weaons. WE haven’t even had a trace on Osama Bin Laden and we are still there!. WE still are spending money for our fathers, sons, husbands, and brothers

...

...

Download as:   txt (12.2 Kb)   pdf (143 Kb)   docx (14 Kb)  
Continue for 8 more pages »
Only available on ReviewEssays.com