ReviewEssays.com - Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays
Search

Patriot Act

Essay by   •  November 29, 2010  •  Essay  •  1,122 Words (5 Pages)  •  1,056 Views

Essay Preview: Patriot Act

Report this essay
Page 1 of 5

One of the worst, yet momentous events in U.S history occurred on September 11th, 2001. This event released a flow of patriotic fervor and a permanent fear among all Americans that they had also now become suspect to acts of international terrorists. This led to a lot of changes in the attitudes of the executive and legislative branches in the United States government. They came up almost immediately with new measures, which were supposedly against terrorism or terrorist threats. One of the principle acts passed by them was called "Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act of 2001," also called the USA Patriot Act. This was signed and approved as law by President Bush on October 26th, 2001. This act is one of the most sweeping acts passed in the history of modern America. The Act affects the civil liberties of the citizens of USA and even non-citizens who are residing in America on a regular basis.

The question though, is if the United States is faced with a Major Crisis like 091101 brought forth, is it permissible to allow the Government the expanded powers to set fourth the laws and enforcement needed to protect our country? And is it permissible to take away many citizens liberties while doing so? The answers may vary, some people may fight for there rights some may not even care. When it comes down to it, we're all American citizens and we might not all be part of the U.S. Army, or the United States Marine Corp. but we are all solders. We all have the same responsibility to protect our Nation and its citizens.

Many may speculate that our "rights" are being violated. That six of there most coveted rights and Amendments are being violated by the government that is supposed to enforce that each citizen have them. Anyone that has an opinion on there rights, basically has two choice is the matter. They can not worry about what there rights are and how they could be violated and save thousands or millions of United States citizen lives in one way or another, or they can fight the Government and keep all there rights as they see they have them, and cause thousands of innocent deaths, just like what occurred on 091101. All the Patriot act did after 091101, was keep the honest people honest. That's all it is meant to do, while weeding out the snakes and rats that can cause harm to our country.

The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines Treason as "the betrayal of trust; the offense of attempting by overt acts to overthrow the government of the state to which the offender owes allegiance or to kill or personally injure the sovereign or the sovereign's family." Better understood too many American citizens as a traitor. The United States of America has seen is share of traitors, from the most well known, Benedict Arnold, to least known Aaron Burr [who conspired to commit treason], and one who is known but is know as a murderer not a Treasonous, Lee Harvey Oswald. With the attacks in New York, and our Nations Capital on 091101, many are left wondering if we have yet again another Treasonous criminal. Even with Treason being a Capital Felony, charged with life in prison without parole, was it tempting to someone who has a grudge against our nation to commit and help in these acts? With the Patriot Act in place, we will be able to prevent any act of Treason from happening, from any person speculated to possible committing the act.

See many Americans think that with this act, the Government may phone tap your house and invade your privacy. They feel that the Government would be able to here every word you speak over the phone. I mean if I wanted to I could turn on a CB radio and listen to the right frequency and listen to what you have to say whenever

...

...

Download as:   txt (6.2 Kb)   pdf (90.2 Kb)   docx (11.2 Kb)  
Continue for 4 more pages »
Only available on ReviewEssays.com
Citation Generator

(2010, 11). Patriot Act. ReviewEssays.com. Retrieved 11, 2010, from https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Patriot-Act/16445.html

"Patriot Act" ReviewEssays.com. 11 2010. 2010. 11 2010 <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Patriot-Act/16445.html>.

"Patriot Act." ReviewEssays.com. ReviewEssays.com, 11 2010. Web. 11 2010. <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Patriot-Act/16445.html>.

"Patriot Act." ReviewEssays.com. 11, 2010. Accessed 11, 2010. https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Patriot-Act/16445.html.