ReviewEssays.com - Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays
Search

Same Sex Marriages from a Christian Perspective

Essay by review  •  February 16, 2011  •  Research Paper  •  1,208 Words (5 Pages)  •  709 Views

Essay Preview: Same Sex Marriages from a Christian Perspective

Report this essay
Page 1 of 5

Same Sex Marriages From A Christian Perspective

We, the Christian citizens of the United States, need to take a stand against same sex marriages. Most Americans do not want same sex marriages in our country. The family is the foundation of our society and we need to protect it. Biblically, same sex marriages are plainly wrong. Now is the time for us, as Christians and Americans to stand up for what is moral and right.

Most Americans oppose having same sex marriages in our country and the numbers are not changing. On a January 21, 2004, in an ABC News poll, fifty five percent of Americans oppose the right to have same sex marriages. On June 18, 2004 Fox News released a poll that said sixty six percent of Americans are against and only twenty five percent favor having same sex marriages. These results are very similar to a poll conducted in August of 2003. A poll from 1996 says that sixty five percent of those polled oppose having same sex marriages. Still sometimes it seems like the American press gives us the illusion that most people are for the right to have same sex marriages. These polls show that most Americans oppose the right to marry someone of the same sex, and these numbers clearly have changed very little since 1996 ("The Polling Report").

The family is the foundation of our society and we need to protect it. The family is made up of a husband and a wife; a male and a female. As far back in time as you may look marriage is an institution established by God. The parts of this institution are a male and female uniting. It just does not work to put a male and a male together or a female and a female. That is like trying to put two engines in a car, instead of an engine and a transmission. It just does not work you can make it run correctly with that combination.

"When the State sanctions homosexual relationships and gives them its blessing, the younger generation becomes confused about sexual identity and quickly loses its understanding of lifelong commitments, emotional bonding, sexual purity, the role of children in a family, and from a spiritual perspective, the "sanctity" of marriage. Marriage is reduced to something of a partnership that provides attractive benefits and sexual convenience, but cannot offer the intimacy described in Genesis. Cohabitation and short-term relationships are the inevitable result. Ask the Norwegians, the Swedes, and the people from the Netherlands. That is exactly what is happening there. What we need to do is protect the family and the foundation of our society" (Dobson).

We can see what same sex marriage has done to other countries. We need to protect our foundation and defend the family.

When a Christian considers this issue they must conclude that the Bible does have a lot to say about same sex marriages. One can not support the union of a male with a male or a female with a female by looking to the Bible. Christians can find plenty of support, in the Bible, for not having same sex marriages

The bible supports the union of a man and a woman. Genesis says "Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of man" (The Life Application 9). "For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh" (The Life Application 9). God is the one who instituted marriage, so that man would not have to be alone. In the book of Matthew 19:4-6, Jesus said,

"That at the beginning the Creator made them male and female, and said for this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh. So they are no longer two but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let no man separate" (The Life Application 1691).

In Leviticus, God says for a man not to lay with another man as he would with his wife. The Bible tells us in I Corinthians 6:9-10

"Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanders nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God."

So it is not hard to see, that in God book there is no room for same sex marriages.

God destroyed several cities in the Bible that were accepting homosexual activities. In the book of Genesis God destroyed the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah, because of their immoral

...

...

Download as:   txt (6.5 Kb)   pdf (98 Kb)   docx (11.6 Kb)  
Continue for 4 more pages »
Only available on ReviewEssays.com
Citation Generator

(2011, 02). Same Sex Marriages from a Christian Perspective. ReviewEssays.com. Retrieved 02, 2011, from https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Same-Sex-Marriages-from-a-Christian-Perspective/38933.html

"Same Sex Marriages from a Christian Perspective" ReviewEssays.com. 02 2011. 2011. 02 2011 <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Same-Sex-Marriages-from-a-Christian-Perspective/38933.html>.

"Same Sex Marriages from a Christian Perspective." ReviewEssays.com. ReviewEssays.com, 02 2011. Web. 02 2011. <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Same-Sex-Marriages-from-a-Christian-Perspective/38933.html>.

"Same Sex Marriages from a Christian Perspective." ReviewEssays.com. 02, 2011. Accessed 02, 2011. https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/Same-Sex-Marriages-from-a-Christian-Perspective/38933.html.