- Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays

Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development

Essay by review  •  November 12, 2010  •  Essay  •  553 Words (3 Pages)  •  1,794 Views

Essay Preview: Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development

Report this essay
Page 1 of 3

Lawrence Kohlberg laid the groundwork for the current debate within psychology on moral development. He proposed that children form ways of thinking through their experiences which include understandings of moral concepts such as justice, rights, equality and human welfare. Kohlberg followed the development of moral judgment beyond the ages. He determined that the process of attaining moral maturity took longer and was more gradual than other studies have shown.

Kohlberg identified six stages of moral grouped into three major levels. Each level represented a fundamental shift in the social-moral perspective of the individual. At the first level, the preconventional level, a person's moral judgments are characterized by a individual perspective. Within this level, a Stage 1 they focused on avoiding breaking rules that are backed by punishment, obedience for its own sake and avoiding the physical consequences of an action to persons and property. At Stage 2 there is the early emergence of moral reciprocity. The Stage 2 focused on the value of an action. Reciprocity is of the form, "you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours." The Golden Rule becomes, "If someone hits you, you hit them back." At Stage 2 one follows the rules only when it is to someone's immediate interests. What is right is what's fair in the sense of an equal exchange, a deal, an agreement. At Stage 2 there is an understanding that everybody has his own interest to pursue and these conflict, so that right is relative.

Individuals tend to be self-identified with these rules, and uphold them consistently, viewing morality as acting in accordance with what society defines as right. Within this level, individuals at Stage 3 are aware of shared feelings, agreements, and expectations which take primacy over individual interests. Persons at Stage 3 define what is right in terms of what is expected by people close to one's self, and in terms of the stereotypic roles that define being good. Being good means keeping mutual relationships, such as trust, loyalty, respect, and gratitude. The perspective is that of the local community or family. Stage 4 marks the shift from defining what is right in terms of local norms and role expectations to defining right in terms of the laws and norms established by the larger social system. This is the "member of society" perspective in which



Download as:   txt (3.4 Kb)   pdf (67.4 Kb)   docx (10 Kb)  
Continue for 2 more pages »
Only available on
Citation Generator

(2010, 11). Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development. Retrieved 11, 2010, from's-Stages-of-Moral-Development/10399.html

"Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development" 11 2010. 2010. 11 2010 <'s-Stages-of-Moral-Development/10399.html>.

"Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development.", 11 2010. Web. 11 2010. <'s-Stages-of-Moral-Development/10399.html>.

"Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development." 11, 2010. Accessed 11, 2010.'s-Stages-of-Moral-Development/10399.html.