ReviewEssays.com - Term Papers, Book Reports, Research Papers and College Essays
Search

A Midsummer Night's Dream

Essay by review  •  May 13, 2011  •  Essay  •  480 Words (2 Pages)  •  797 Views

Essay Preview: A Midsummer Night's Dream

Report this essay
Page 1 of 2

"A Midsummer Night's Dream ." Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia . April 17, 2007. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc.. 18 Apr 2007 .

A Midsummer Night's Dream is a romantic comedy by William Shakespeare written sometimes in the late-1500s. It portrays the adventures of four young Athenian lovers and a group of amateur actors in a moonlit forest, and their interactions with the fairies who inhabit it and Duke of the Athenians. This play is one of Shakespeare's most popular and is widely performed across the world.

After researching this romantic comedy, a source that I found to be very helpful was the play "A Midsummer Night's Dream," from Wikipedia. This is a website that I found while researching and it grabbed my attention because it is a multilingual, web-based, free content encyclopedia project and is written collaboratively by volunteers from all around the world. With rare exceptions, its articles can be edited by anyone with access to the internet, which can be both good and bad at times. In every article, it provides links that will guide you to associated articles with additional information. Wikipedia was founded as an offshoot of Nupedia, a now abandoned project to produce a free encyclopedia, today there are over 75,000 active contributors working on more than 5,300,000 articles in more than 100 different languages.

The author states that "there is no known source for the plot of A Midsummer Night's Dream, although individual elements can be traced to classical literature; for example the story of Pyramus and Thisbe is told in Ovid's Metamorphoses and the transformation of bottom into an ass is descended from Apuleius' The Golden Ass; Shakespeare would have studied both texts in school." This caught my attention because I had somewhat of the same idea about how the comedy when I first read it because I had read the others that this author had mentioned and thought they were similar.

This page was last modified on April 17, 2007, this being so recent was another reason I chose this website and it is a registered trademark of the Wikimedia Foundation, Inc, a US- registered charity. This website also gives you the complete works of William Shakespeare, not only A Midsummer Night's Dream, but also his tragedies, comedies, histories, poems, and plays which will lead you to any of his works just by clicking on the one that

...

...

Download as:   txt (2.8 Kb)   pdf (58.8 Kb)   docx (9.7 Kb)  
Continue for 1 more page »
Only available on ReviewEssays.com
Citation Generator

(2011, 05). A Midsummer Night's Dream. ReviewEssays.com. Retrieved 05, 2011, from https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/A-Midsummer-Night's-Dream/52972.html

"A Midsummer Night's Dream" ReviewEssays.com. 05 2011. 2011. 05 2011 <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/A-Midsummer-Night's-Dream/52972.html>.

"A Midsummer Night's Dream." ReviewEssays.com. ReviewEssays.com, 05 2011. Web. 05 2011. <https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/A-Midsummer-Night's-Dream/52972.html>.

"A Midsummer Night's Dream." ReviewEssays.com. 05, 2011. Accessed 05, 2011. https://www.reviewessays.com/essay/A-Midsummer-Night's-Dream/52972.html.